• Central Services Employee List

    775 Cranberry Street

    Newland, NC 28657

    (828) 733-6006 Fax (828) 733-8943


    Superintendent’s Office

    Superintendent:                                                                       Ken Townsend, Ext. 1503

    Executive Administrative Assistant:                                    Libby Wise, Ext. 1517

    Board Meetings:  Agenda/Minutes:                                     Libby Wise, Ext. 1517

    Executive Director of Human Resources                             
    Public Information Office:                                                      Libby Wise, Ext. 1517
    Receptionist/Front Office Contact:                                       Lana Pittman & Gina Aldridge, Ext. 1000

    Curriculum & Instruction

    Administrative Assistant:                                                     Bev Baird, Ext. 1509

    DEMSEA :                                                                               Ellis Ayers, Ext. 1502

    Academically Gifted:                                                            Angela Vitale, Ext. 1511

    Pre-Kindergarten Program:                                                  Angela Vitale, Ext. 1511

    Admin. Assistant for Pre-K:                                                 Renee Banner, Ext. 1501
    Limited English Proficiency:                                                Beth Prince, Ext. 2525
    School Improvement:                                                            Ellis Ayers, Ext. 1502
    Title I Program:                                                                      Angela Vitale, Ext. 1511 

    Textbook Orders:                                                                    Renee Banner, Ext. 1501

    Testing & Accountability:                                                     Ellis Ayers,  Ext. 1502

    Media Program:                                                                      Dennis Brown Ext. 2300                                                          

    College/Career Readiness:                                                   Libby Gragg, Ext. 5527
    Grant Writing:                                                                         
    Curriculum & Parent Concerns:                                           Ellis Ayers, Ext. 1513
    District Coordinator :                                                                    Ellis Ayers, Ext. 1513    

    Health Services (housed at Newland Elementary)

    School Nurse:                                                                         Twila Ingwersen,  Ext. 2555

    School Nurse:                                                                         Beth Shook, Ext. 2554
    School Nurse:                                                                         Dawn Hicks, Ext. 2530                    
    Avery County Collaborative (Housed at the Williams YMCA)
    Coordinator:                                                                              Sheila Bauer 828-737-5500


    Professional Learning                                                                                                                                                                        

    Curriculum and Instruction Team                                       Bev Baird, Ext. 1509


    Children With Special Needs Program                                                    

    Executive Director:                                                                Angela Vitale, Ext. 1511

    Administrative Assistant/Easy IEP:                                   Renee Banner, Ext. 1501


    Human Resources/Personnel

    Executive Director :                                                                Ext. 1504

    Administrative Assistant:                                                     Kathy Benfield, Ext. 1523

    Application Requests:                                                            Kathy Benefield, Ext. 1523

    Information:                                                                            Kathy Benfield, Ext. 1523



    Initial Licensure:                                                                     Ext. 1504

    Added Program Areas:                                                          Ext. 1504

    Reactivation of Expired License:                                          Ext. 1504

    Provisional License:                                                               Ext. 1504

    Renewal Credit:                                                                      Kathy Benfield, Ext. 1523


    Career and Technical Education

    Director                                                                                     Kim Davis, Ext. 3508    

    Child Nutrition

    Director:                                                                                    Tammy Woodie, Ext. 1514

    Secretary:                                                                                   Holly Ricker, Ext. 1519



    Director:                                                                                     Mike Buchanan




    Director:                                                                                     Mike Buchanan                                                                          



    Director:                                                                                     Brian King, Ext. 1510

    Cost Clerk:                                                                                 Linda King, Ext. 1512

    School Bus Garage Supervisor:                                              Brian King, 260-1055

    TIMS Coordinator:                                                                   Linda King, Ext. 1512


    Technology (Housed at Newland Elementary)

    Chief Technology Officer:                                                       Dennis Brown, Ext. 2300

    Technology Technician:                                                           Nancy Carver, Ext. 2302
    Network Engineer:                                                                  Eric Hale, Ext. 2304
    Technology Technician:                                                          Matt Miller, Ext. 2309
    Technology Technician:                                                          Jason Trice, Ext. 2308
     Instructional Technology Facilitator                                    Tommie Deyton, Ext. 2303

     Technology Technician:                                                          Nate Dyer, Ext. 2307

    Technology Facilitator/Hearing Impaired Services

    Coordinator:                                                                           Ellis Ayers, Ext. 1502


    Business and Financial Services & Operations

    Executive Director:                                                                 Jeff Jaynes, Ext. 1505

    Payroll:                                                                                     Brenda Stansberry, Ext. 1515

    Workers Compensation:                                                        Jeff Jaynes, Ext. 1505

    Purchase Orders:                                                                    Linda McKinney, Ext. 1506

    Accounts Payable:                                                                  Linda McKinney, Ext. 1506

    Federal Programs:                                                                  Kimberly Taylor, Ext. 1516



    School Resource Officer at ACHS                                       Tim Winters, Ext 3519       
                                                at CMS                                         Brett Stocton, Ext 5407



    All extensions may be reached by dialing (828) 733-6006 unless otherwise noted.

    Please visit our web site for the e-mail addresses of the central services employees.

Last Modified on August 2, 2017